top of page
Blog: Blog2
Search
  • Writer's pictureAileen Hernandez

Italian Song Recommendations

Updated: Mar 6, 2019



Last week during my two-hour phone call with my mom, I dished to her how homesick I’ve been feeling and how simultaneously, I’m having the time of my life! I recall her asking me how I’ve been getting through to the locals and their mother tongue. It was then that I basked in how simple it’s been to understand some words and phrases when being spoken to in Italian. Often, I am pleasantly surprised by the conversations I can carry with locals even if we are speaking entirely different languages—I speak Spanish, they speak Italian and it works…most of the time. Although Spanish and Italian aren’t the same, I can make out the similarities in words, but sometimes what something is in Spanish is the absolute opposite in Italian or it doesn’t even come near! Ultimately, my Spanish during my time abroad has been the biggest blessing, and I cannot thank my parents enough of for ignoring everyone when they said I would end up confused and language-less learning to languages at the same time. Who’s laughing now?


Aside from being able to communicate and express my thoughts in two different languages, being bilingual is double the fun in every way possible! The jokes? Hilarious! And it kills me when they don’t translate well and are no longer funny. Sorry. Movies and shows? SO intense, novelas are novelas for a reason. Music? Don’t get me started on the greatest gift of all! Being able to listen to music in two different languages doubles your music library and expertise! I cannot fathom how many times Angela and I have gone for drives up to Horsetooth Reservoir, Rocky Mountain National Park, Wyoming (we like to go on drives, it’s therapeutic okay) and I scroll past a song in Spanish that I know she would absolutely LOVE or is applicable to the current life crisis… but she can’t understand so I’ll translate and she’ll listens and thus far I want to say she’s has picked up a thing or two, you’re welcome Ange.


SO I figured, why not try Italian music? And so here we are today. Today’s blog is more of a playlist than a blog, I’ve been hard at work researching and listening to Italian music and here are a few of my favorites so far:


Niente e Impossibile

Artist: Chirara Grispo

Released: 2016

Genre: Pop


Niente e Impossible is a song about opening up to new experiences, trusting yourself and taking chances. This song resonated on many levels but the part that strikes me the most is that I can closely relate it to studying abroad; simply because it's about believing in yourself, following your dreams and taking chances!


Non Finira

Artist: I Cani

Album: Aurora

Released: 2016

Genre: Alternative/Indie


Non Finira translates to "It Will Not End", the song touches on consumerism and the monotonous cycles which are followed by society. Although Non Finira is a strong political piece, what drew me in was the funky beat and alternative style that I enjoy!


Fall On Me

Artist: Andrea Bocelli & Matteo Bocelli

Album: Si

Released: 2018

Genre: Classical


Fall on Me is a father and son duet-- Andrea Bocelli and Matteo Bocelli. This beautiful piece embodies the relationship between parent and child! This song was recommended by Gabriella and Eli!


Se Avessi un Cuore

Artist: Annalisa

Album: Se Avessi un Cuore

Released: 2016

Genre: Pop


Se Avessi un Cuore translates to "If I Had a Heart", this song is a passionate "if only.. then I would" piece that reminds me of one of my favorite Miranda Lambert songs, even if they are worlds apart (literally) in terms of genre.


L’ultimo Ostacolo

Artist: Paola Turci

Album: Viva da morire

Released: 2019

Genre: Pop


L'ultimo Ostacolo is about accepting that the obstacle at hand may not be the last, but not being alone in the process and keeping an optimistic outlook for the future!


Bellissime Stelle

Artist: Andrea Bocelli, Fransesco Sartori, Luigi de Crescenzo

Album: Vivire Live in Tuscany

Released: 2008

Genre: Vocal


Bellisime Stelle is the song that inspired this blog post in the first place because I listened to it about eight years ago thanks to my lovely sister, whom I miss dearly, Gabriela! Growing up as the younger sibling, I had little to no say in what music was played--especially when she was driving! Anyway, she went through a phase after graduating high school in which she only listened to Italian music. Of all the songs she discovered, Bellisime Stelle was constantly on repeat and I grew to love it and sing a long every few words or so. Bellisime Stelle is about finding the most beautiful stars in the sky even from miles apart.


Gianna

Artist: Rino Gaetano

Album: Nuntereggae Piu

Released: 1978

Genre: Pop


Gianna is a song about the life of a girl, Gianna, however it represents not only her life but the ironic way of life for women at times. This song is very upbeat and fun, which is one of the reasons I was hooked! Gianna also placed third at the Sanremo Festival in 1978!


Hold On

Artist: Klune, IVYE

Album: Night Moves

Released: 2018

Genre: Dance/Electronic


No translation here, just a song for a heck of a good time!


D’estate Non Vale

Artist: Fred De Palma, Ana Mena

Released: 2018

Genre: Hip-Hop/Rap


D'estate Non Vale translates to In Summer Its Not Worth it, this fun care-free song carries strong Latin influences, similar to the sound of Despacito, odds are if you like that song you'll like this one!


Overall, I enjoyed my exploration of Italian music it was new and exciting. I think my favorite part was listening to the the instruments and vocals for what they were instead of piecing the song together for its meaning right away. Doing this first when finding new music allows me to really appreciate the music in its rawest form. After giving the song a good listen, I would then head over to Google and search for the translation of the song. I was amazed each time I realized what a song meant. The song that I was most surprised by was Non Finira! I enjoyed its upbeat funk styles but had no idea that the song was about politics! I feel I got a a mix of different styles of music that are central to my personal taste in music, even finding similarities to songs by my favorite artists! I am excited to continue my search of Italian music and fear not, I intend to continue sharing it with you! Like my weekly Florentine Recommendations each week, I will be adding a song to the playlist and writing a small gist of it! Hope you enjoy it!


BONUS:

Sucker

Jonas Brothers

Granted they’re not Italian, but they make the list because who doesn’t love a good come back and who doesn’t love the Jonas Brothers?


Florentine Recommendation:

Panini Toscani

Piazza del Duomo, 34/R, 50122 Firenze, FL


I pass by Panini Toscani nearly everyday while I'm out and about, however every single time I pass by, there is a line out the door for miles it seems. Me being the impatient monster I am, never hop in line. I did however think "if it has a line out the door everyday those must be some amazing paninis"... But then on my way home from the SAI office on a Friday afternoon, low and behold: no line! I took it as my opportunity and really discovered why the line is so long all the time! I will most definitely stand in line now.


I would highly recommend this to anyone and everyone! My experience there was awesome, you will be asked if you have ever been in before--and if you haven't you're in for a treat! You get to try their different variations of cheese and deli meats to put in your panini! Once you decide which you like best, you can add different toppings catered to your taste buds! It is then toasted and ready for your savory satisfaction!






21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Mid Semester Reflection

Mid Semester Reflection Midterms and spring break came and went, suddenly, I was left with the realization that its been approximately 65 days since my study abroad journey began. To be frank, its bee

bottom of page