top of page
Blog: Blog2
Search
  • Writer's pictureAileen Hernandez

It's Okay

It’s Okay

Studying abroad: it’s fun, it’s exciting but its also terrifying. For today’s blog, I want to center in on the topic of homesickness, which people talk about but hardly scratch the surface. Homesickness affects us all, and it comes in waves. Some weeks are going to be amazing, other weeks will feel like tsunami. This past week was my Lituya Bay tsunami.


The thing about studying abroad is that you’re going to be living your best life 95% of the time. However, the truth is that you won’t be feeling that way every second of every day—and it’s okay. Preparing to study abroad is full of workshops hosted by your program of study or home institution. Don’t get me wrong, while they are extremely beneficial, nothing will fully prepare you for the tide of emotions you will feel. It is nearly impossible to predict how you will feel and react to your new surroundings and it’s okay.


In the months leading up to my departure, I became aggressively overwhelmed with all the what if’s that came along with studying abroad. So much so that I nearly didn’t embark on the journey of a lifetime! What a regretful decision that would’ve been. Which leads me to my next point, what if I was back home?


Maybe once a day I ask myself what shenanigans I would be up to back home, while it’s not the greatest thing I can do to help my adjustment to Florence, I still do it. It is a habit that formed very easily, but harder to break from. While everyone will tell you to stop it immediately, it’s hard to and odds are you probably won’t. Guess what? That is also okay! You’re thousands of miles away from home, it’s only normal to wonder what’s going on back home. Maybe a little FOMO (fear of missing out) is creeping in? Don’t let it, call your best friend and/or family! My best friend Angela and I FaceTime as much as being on two sides of the world will allot us. One thing for sure is, it keeps my sanity in place. 10 out of 10 times our conversations start with “I miss you so much” followed by “same old same old, nothing new” and the inevitable “I’m so jealous I wish I was there”. Honestly? I’d be a little jealous of me too! The beauty of Florence is unmatched and indescribable. This reminds me that while life back home is moving just as fast as it is here in Italy, I’ll be back in a short few months wishing I was back in Florence.


I know for a fact, if I chose not to study abroad and passed up an amazing opportunity, I 100% guarantee that I would ask myself: What would I be doing in Florence today? ON THE DAILY. But in the grand scheme of things, I would rather miss home a little here and there than miss Italy in all its glory! Home will always be home, and it will always be there. Finding a home away from home is finding a new getaway destination filled with amazing memories, and a newfound love for adventure. Being far from home for so long, will make your return just a bit sweeter.

So my advice? Take full advantage of the opportunity at hand. Be selfish and give yourself the gift travel and discovery even if it comes with a few bumps in the road! Studying abroad would not be a life changing experience if it was easy. If that was the case, you would never see the growth in your emotional wellbeing, your grit and your independence. Take studying abroad for all that it is, a rollercoaster of ups and downs and twists and turns, because at the end you will have fallen in love with not only the city but yourself. It’s okay to feel down in the dumps sometimes and it’s okay to admit you miss home more than anything sometimes because not everything will be a glamour shot—and these feelings will make the greatest stories at the end of your adventure!


Recommendation of the Week:

Trattoria Zà Zà

Piazza del Mercato Centrale, 26r, 50123 Firenze

055215411

The food and service at Trattoria Za Za is unbeatable! I had the Ravioli in a Bolognese and cream sauce. DELICIOUS! This quaint restaurant is in the center of the Central Market of San Lorenzo. Owner Stefano Bondi, “the owner and soul of Za Za” established the famous Trattoria in 1977! Head over to try their delicious ravioli, their exquisite truffle dishes or the crisp house wines, you won’t regret it!


Alex and I enjoying a glass of the house Rose at Za Za's


13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Mid Semester Reflection

Mid Semester Reflection Midterms and spring break came and went, suddenly, I was left with the realization that its been approximately 65 days since my study abroad journey began. To be frank, its bee

bottom of page